Being A Photography Enthusiast

Because the sky is blue….

I like taking pictures of everything with any available tools,  from smartphone to camera. For example, the picture of buildings above was captured with a smartphone camera. Had I took it with DSLR, I would lost the precious moment.

Photography is about finding or creating a perfect moment in many different genres : architecture, interior, landscape, human interest, nature, still life, food, and many more. But sometimes when I finished taking a picture, I couldn’t help myself asking :

” How do I feel about this genre?”

A guy, a respected photo journalist, once told us that if we really like something badly, there aren’t any words to describe and explain it. We just feel “happy” in the process, and forget about genres, labels, or anything.

1495952422481
Getting the right moment is quite…tricky

OK. That makes sense, except you’re in the middle of making decision to buy lenses and lighting. Do you really want to invest on something you rarely use?

I simplified all of those genre-things into two main interest based on the set and location : outdoor and indoor photography (you can check my IG). I analyze them regularly during my free time. Which one was my best shots?

There are times when we want to deepen our experience. Here, in the capital city, you can find plenty of photography events with a lot of genres available : fashion, model art, surrealism, landscape, nature, human interest, etc. Yes, some of them are quite pricey, it’s the costs of getting great pictures with the right mentors and event organizer. Too bad, favorite events are normally crowded. You’ll feel like a real photo-journalist than a tourist!

And then I realized something, a big advantage of being hobbyist and enthusiast. We are not going to measure our works by the standards of other people, anyway. We just do the things we really want to do!

yotsu800wp
My serious face whenever I  found insects and bugs

So I prefer to hunt bugs and frogs with very few people when others are busy with humans and models…..

Perhaps outdoor photography is suit me best.  There is always enough room for everyone, isn’t it?

IMG_20170416_150425_854
Who can resist this?

On the other hand, indoor photography, such as food,still life, and interior are also interesting.

So which genre of photography are you into?

6 thoughts on “Being A Photography Enthusiast

    1. That’s also the other advantage of being photography enthusiast!We can stop whenever we want.πŸ˜€Wow. Minimalist photography is very interesting & quite challenging.I’d love to see your works someday, mba Ditaa..

      Like

  1. I like what you state about being a hobbyist and enthusiast. Indeed the measure for that should be whether the hobbyist or enthusiast is happy or not about the activity! Screw other people’s opinions!! πŸ™‚ Anyway, your food shot in the last picture is really good too! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

